It’s Britney, Pitch

Youtube// BCM241 pitch

Thank you for watching, I hope you found my pitch as exciting as I did.

As stated in the video above, I will be presenting my findings through the use of a visual essay, which will be shared here on my blog. As Tik Tok is a video-based platform, I aim to utilise the visual aspects of the content, supported by a written explanation of my findings. I will be using presentation sites such as Canva to create the visual aspects of my research.

From this research, I aim to better understand the following topics;

What does it take to be apart of the community? What connects the videos?. The diversity of the community, as well as feedback on the apps usability on different devices.

In the first week of research, I will be looking at what makes an online community. I will be taking notes on the videos I find within the Mamma Mia community, focusing on what the videos provide that is different to other online communities.

Due to the growth of social media, the internet is now a complex environment for a researcher to navigate. It is is no longer possible to consider an online community as a “privileged field site for an ethnographer” (Caliandro 2017, p 551). In response to this, I will use the methodological principles of the Digital Methods paradigm, and focus on the practices of internet users and the social formations surrounding a topic, such as Mamma Mia!

By the end of this journey, I hope to have a deeper understanding of ethnographies within the Tik Tok community, looking at how content creators engage with others.

I am very much looking forward to discovering the ethnographies within the Mamma Mia Tik Tok community through participatory observation!

To sign off, I leave you with this gem;

Youtube// Mamma Mia! Here we go again

Reference

Caliandro, A., 2017. Digital Methods for Ethnography: Analytical Concepts for Ethnographers Exploring Social Media Environments. Journal of Contemporary Ethnography, pp.551-555.

Millington, R., (2020.) 15 Examples Of Thriving Online Communities | Feverbee. [online] Available at: <https://www.feverbee.com/15-examples-of-thriving-online-communities/&gt; [Accessed 10 September 2020].

University of Hetfordshire (2020) The Visual Essay – Creative Arts Toolkit. [online] Available at: <https://catoolkit.herts.ac.uk/toolkit/the-visual-essay/#:~:text=A%20visual%20essay%20is%20a,(e.g.%20using%20Photoshop%2C%20Illustrator)&gt; Accessed [10 September 2020]

Leave a comment